skip navigation

Eighth Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition Held in La Jolla

2011 USDC Group Photo

UB team photo in La Jolla: Alvaro Giron, Kourtney Hartz, Emily Nuding, Maxwell Todd, Tim Arnold, Sarah Meskunas, Bobby Kline, Jimmy Ferraro, Carl Hempl, and Andrew Trevisani.

The 2011 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held February 10-12 in La Jolla, California. Twenty-eight teams competed, including three international teams representing Malaysia, Romania and British Columbia. Sixteen structures survived all three of the ground motions: 940 El Centro, 1994 Northridge, and GM3 (Davis); unfortunately, UB’s structure did not survive the last ground motion.

Oregon State University took 1st place; California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo took 2nd place; and 3rd place was the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

For more information on this year’s and past competitions, visit our Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition page.

UBuffalo - Seismic Design Competition 2011