skip navigation

Ninth Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition Held in Memphis

2012 USDC Group Photo

UB team photo in Memphis (from left): Kaitlin Gorski, Sean McTigue, Tim Arnold (team captain), Matt Kielson, Justin Woodruff, Maria Koliou, Sofia Tangalos and Marshall Lew, senior principal and vice president of AMEC E&I, Inc. and EERI Secretary-Treasurer 2006-2011.

The 2012 Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition was held April 10-13 at the Peabody Hotel in Memphis, Tennessee. Twenty-seven teams competed, including three international teams representing Romania, India and BC Canada (British Columbia).  Twelve structures survived all three of the ground motions, including UB’s team; the other 16 teams did not survive the last ground motion.

The UB team included Timothy Arnold, Matthew Keilson, Sean McTigue, Justin Woodruff, Paul Holsberger, Ragin Mickens, Kaitlin Gorski, and Kaitlyn Eng. The team received Honorable Mention for the Degenkolb Award for Structural Innovation and took 12th place in the competition overall. The University of California, Los Angeles took 1st place; California Poly, Pomona took 2nd place; and 3rd place was Oregon State University.

Sofia Tangalos (MCEER) enjoyed participating as a judge, along with another twenty individuals, including Thalia Anagnos (San Jose State University), Amanda Bao (Rochester Institute of Technology), Stacy Bartoletti (Degenkolb), Ian Buckle (University of Nevada, Reno), Brady Cox (University of Arkansas), Mauricio Ciudad-Real (Kinemetrics), Heidi Faison (PEER Outreach Director), Bora Gencturk (University of Houston), Nathan C. Gould (ABS Consulting), Christine Goulet (UCLA), John Hooper (Magnusson Klemencic Associates), Dominik Lang (Norsar), Justin Marshall (Auburn University), Karthik Ramanathan (Georgia Tech), Derek Skolnik (Kinemetrics), Alex Taflanidis (University of Notre Dame), Rob Tovani (CSI), John van de Lindt (University of Alabama), Judith Mitrani-Reiser (Johns Hopkins University), and Shahram Pezeshk (University of Memphis).

For more information on this year’s and past competitions, visit our Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition page.

UBuffalo - Seismic Design Competition 2012