skip navigation


2001 Shamsher Prakash Research Award

The Shamsher Prakash Foundation solicits nomination (no application) for the "2001 Shamsher Prakash Research Award" for young  engineers, scientists and researchers from all over the world. Nominess must be 40 years or younger.  In other words,  their date of birth must be May 31, 1961 or later.  Nominations are invited so as to reach the Honorary Secretary on or before May 31, 2001

The candidates should be specialist in Geotechnical Engineering and/or Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering and it is necessary that they have significant independent contributions and show promise of excellence.

The Award consists of a cash prize US $1100.00 and a plaque. The nominations may be made on a plain paper.

All nominations will be reviewed by a Judging Committee of International Experts from Chile, Canada, Greece, Italy, Japan, and United States, and the award will be announced by September 30, 2001. Suitable arrangements will be made for making the award at an appropriate ceremony in the country of residence of the awardee.


Recent Award Winners:

Year Recipient Country Category
2000 Roberto Paolucci  Italy
1999 Jonathan D. Bray 
Scott Steedman 
1998 Ikuo Towhata  Japan


Particulars for Nomination

Please send seven complete assembled folders to the Foundation. The following information must be included in this order in each folder:


For Further Information


Sally Prakash, Honorary Secretary,
Shamsher Prakash Foundation
Anand Kutir, 1111 Duane Ave. 
Rolla, MO 65401 (USA)
Fax: (573) 364-5572(*51)
E-mail: or


  Contact Us  |  Acknowledgements   |  Disclaimer  |  Copyright© 2007 by the Research Foundation of the State of New York. All rights reserved.