Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research logo google logo
navigation bar
Three UB graduate students received the Dr. Sophokles E. Logiadis Prize. Shown from left are Oscar Ramirez, Eric Wolff, Professor Michael Constantinou, and Diego Lopez Garcia

Four students from the Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, University at Buffalo, received awards this past May during the department's commencement reception. Oscar Ramirez, Eric Wolff and Diego Lopez Garcia received the first "Dr. Sophokles E. Logiadis Prize" for graduate students in structural engineering. The award is given to deserving students who demonstrate high scholastic ability and make a substantial contribution to the advancement of the technologies of seismic isolation and seismic energy dissipation. Eric and Diego are currently MCEER students, while Dr. Ramirez is now Director of the Center for Experimental Engineering at the Technical University of Panama. 

Jeffrey Berman received the I.H. Shames Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for demonstrating dedication to the department and exemplary performance as a teaching assistant. For more information, see .

Gauri-Shankar Guha, Ph.D. candidate in the department of energy, environmental & mineral economics, Pennsylvania State University, received the Norman & Ardeth Frisbey International Student Award in April. This award honors and recognizes outstanding contributions to international understanding by a graduate international student at Penn State.

Ali Rejaie, Ph.D. candidate in the department of civil engineering and International Institute of Innovative Risk Reduction Research on Civil Infrastructure Systems at the University of Southern California received an award in recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership and service to the life of the USC from Michael J. Jackson, Vice President for Student Affairs. The award is presented to three international graduate students at USC each year. He also received the "Outstanding Achievements in Civil Engineering Education" award from the Association of Professors and Scholars of Iranian Heritage. Both awards were presented in April.

  Contact Us  |  Acknowledgements   |  Disclaimer  |  Copyright© 2007 by the Research Foundation of the State of New York. All rights reserved.