Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research logo google logo
navigation bar

MCEER Banner

Kudos graphic with trophy image

photo of Mircea Grigoriou

MCEER Investigator Mircea D. Grigoriu has been awarded the 2002 Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Professor Grigoriu was cited "for his original theoretical developments and applications of probabilistic methods to civil engineering." The Freudenthal Medal is presented in recognition of distinguished achievement in safety and reliability studies applicable to civil engineering. A faculty member at Cornell University, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, since 1980, Professor Grigoriu's research interests are in structural dynamics, random vibration, stochastic mechanics, fracture mechanics, and applied probability. He received the award at the 15th Engineering Mechanics Division Conference, June 2-5, 2002 in New York City.

photo of T.T. Soong

T. T. Soong, Samuel P. Capen Professor of Engineering Science, University at Buffalo, and co-principal investigator of the NSF Center Grants which established NCEER in 1986 and MCEER in 1997, has been awarded the 2002 Nathan M. Newmark Medal by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). The award was presented at the 15th Engineering Mechanics Division Conference, June 2-5, 2002, in New York City. The Newmark Medal is given to an ASCE member whose outstanding contributions in structural mechanics have substantially strengthened the scientific base of structural engineering. Dr. Soong was cited "for his pioneering work, innovations and leadership in the theory and applications of structural control systems in civil infrastructure facilities."

Photo of Stephanie Chang

Stephanie E. Chang, research assistant professor at the University of Washington and long-time MCEER researcher, received the 2001 Shah Innovation prize "for her innovative contributions to earthquake loss estimation and lifeline seismic risk analysis, and her success in the unique and difficult role of bridging the engineering and social science research and practicing communities." According to the 2001 selection committee, Stephanie's career "reflects the innovation, creativity and entrepreneurial spirit honored by the prize. Not only does she work in both the academic and professional worlds, and the U.S. and international contexts, but she also spans the engineering and social science communities."

Endowed by a generous gift from the Haresh Shah family, the $10,000 Shah Family Innovation Prize is awarded annually to younger professionals and academics for creativity, innovation and entrepreneurial spirit in the field of earthquake risk mitigation and management. Stephanie received the prize at EERI's Annual Meeting in Long Beach, California, held on February 6-9, 2002.

Donald J. Goralski, MCEER's Senior Program Officer for Industry/User Partnerships, received the Marilyn G.S. Watt Alumni Award from the Communication Studies faculty of Canisius College. The award recognizes alumni of the department who have distinguished themselves in their careers. He received the award during the department's annual spring honors and awards event, which was held on April 22 at Canisius College.

Photo of Thomas D. O'Rourke

Thomas D. O'Rourke, Thomas R. Briggs Professor of Engineering in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Cornell University, and long-time member of MCEER's Executive Committee, received the endorsement of the voters as President-Elect of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI).

He will serve one year as President-Elect, followed by two years as President and one year as Past President. Tom was formally welcomed to his new post at the EERI Annual Meeting, held February 6-9, 2002 in Long Beach, California.

Photo of George C. Lee

MCEER Director George C. Lee was honored for his 40 years of service to the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, University at Buffalo. He was honored at a dinner hosted by UB President William Greiner, and by a reception held at the School of Engineering, hosted by current Dean Mark Karwan. Dean Karwan noted that George is the first faculty member in the School of Engineering to reach the 40-year mark. When asked about his achievements, George attributed his success to his commitment to the collective achievement of the faculty members of the institution and its goals.

Prior to serving in his current roles as MCEER Director, Samuel P. Capen Professor of Engineering, and Senior University Advisor for Technology, George was Chair, Department of Civil Engineering (1974-1977), and Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences(1977-1995), Associate Director, Calspan-UB Research Center (1984-1989) and Acting Director, National Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (1989-1991).


return to contents

previous article  next article

Footer bar

  Contact Us  |  Acknowledgements   |  Disclaimer  |  Copyright© 2007 by the Research Foundation of the State of New York. All rights reserved.