Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research logo google logo
navigation bar
MCEER Bulletin logo

back | contents | next

Kudos Logo

Lynn Preston, Deputy Division Director of NSF’s Engineering Education and Centers Division, was recently honored as the NSF Engineer of the Year. She received this honor at the annual awards ceremony for engineers in government sponsored by the Society of Professional Engineers, held February 20, 2003. In an email to ERC colleagues, Lynn wrote, “This is a treasured award for me because of its recognition of my contributions to engineering; but what it really recognizes are the contributions of the ERCs to the advancement of engineering knowledge and technology and the development of engineers who are so much more effective in practice because of the experiences they have had in your centers.” MCEER thanks Lynn for acknowledging the ERCs and congratulates her on this award.

Tom O’Rourke, Harry Stewart and Sang-Soo Jeon won the 2002 Trevithick Prize from the British Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) for the paper “Geotechnical Aspects of Lifeline Engineering,”published in the January 2001 issue of Geotechnical Engineering. The prize is awarded every three years for an outstanding paper published by ICE. The awards ceremony was held on November 5, 2002 in London.

The paper summarizes the results of research supported by NSF, MCEER, Gas Technology Institute and New York Gas Group. Tom O’Rourke is the Thomas R. Briggs Professor of Engineering and Harry Stewart is an Associate Professor, both at Cornell University. Sang-Soo Jeon received his Ph.D. from Cornell for GIS-based research on the earthquake performance of water and natural gas distributions networks. He is now the Chief Researcher of the Geotechnical Research Division of the Korea Highway Corp.

Any comments or suggestions concerning the bulletin are welcome!
To do so, write the editor at Winter 2002/Spring 2003..

  Contact Us  |  Acknowledgements   |  Disclaimer  |  Copyright© 2007 by the Research Foundation of the State of New York. All rights reserved.