MCEER logo

MCEER Bulletin, Volume 22, Number 1, December 2008

skip navigation

Volume 22, Number 1, December 2008

mceer logo

Fifth Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition Held in New Orleans

Seventeen teams of undergraduate civil engineering students competed in the national Fifth Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition, held February 2008 during the EERI Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Four MCEER teams participated, from Florida A&M University (FAMU), University at Buffalo (UB), University of Nevada, Reno, and New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT).

Teams brought commercial office buildings that they designed to the competition, where they were tested on a shake table in front of an audience. Structures were built to maximize floor space for tenants while minimizing seismic damage, and were evaluated based on architectural design, structural innovation and financial return for the client over the life of the structure. Additional points were awarded for the teams’ posters and power point presentations.

The UB team of Barbaros Cetiner, KarHim Chui, Cheuk Kwok, Melissa Norlund, Neda Stoeva, and Robert Wurstner, built a wooden 29-story model which came in third place. Close behind was the UNR team of Robert Coomes, Kelly Doyle, Liz Sowers, and Danielle Smith, who placed fourth.

The NJIT team of Indira Hernandez, Nishant Shah, Hertzler Away, Shafali Patel, Eric Wilson, Angelica Rodriguez placed 12th and the FAMU team of Karl Green, Gustavo Munoz, Rochelle McKnight and Troy Sneed placed 15th.

MCEER SLC member Seda Dogruel served as a judge; and the competition chairs this year were Alex Pena (Stanford), and Jamie Hong (Berkeley).

The competition was organized by the PEER SLC and sponsored by PEER, NEES, EERI and Quanser.